Customer Reviews

Find out what customers are saying about Gene Messer Toyota.

Had good experience with the salesman, John Cook. He worked around my schedule and held a vehicle for me. I purchased an older model truck and the engine light came on a few days after purchase. John, and the service manager were quick to fix all issues at no extra cost to me. Being in customer service, I understand issues occur sometimes, but this dealer responded quickly and took care of me.

Customer: Benjamin Wilkinson
Date: 2019-08-21
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

They were very very nice and treated my wife so good today when she dropped her car off and they brought her back to the church. They called when it was ready. They go out of their way to see that everything is done perfectly. We really appreciate the service that we get. Thank you gene messer Toyota

Customer: Pastor Rick Oliphint
Date: 2019-08-20
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Pierce and David were great. We purchased two cars and they helped us get the best price on both. Great customer service!!

Customer: Veronica Vasquez
Date: 2019-08-09
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Took my 2017 Tundra into Gene Messer Toyota for 10,000 mile oil change this morning. Joe Owen was outstanding. Answered a couple of my questions I was concerned with. During inspection of my vehicle, my AC filter was found to be dirty so they replaced with another at a reasonable cost. I was in and out in 30 minutes. Super fast service. Joe was very courteous and professional. I’ve had nothing but great service at Gene Messer.

Customer: Ron Bales
Date: 2019-08-01
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Oscar was great to work with, none of the pressure tactics that a lot of salesman use. Found us the exact car with exact accessories we wanted. Got it shipped in from another location and it was as advertised. Would definitely consider doing business here again.

Customer: Mike Shoemake
Date: 2019-08-01
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

We have shopped at Gene Messer several times in the past. The last couple transactions haven’t been really great but the salesman made all the difference in this transaction. Oscar was great from start to finish and helped us with every bit of the details, would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a new vehicle

Customer: Miranda Blair
Date: 2019-07-31
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Gene Messer was the best car buying experience my husband and I have ever had. They helped us get a great deal, and took the time to educate us on our vehicle before we left. Everyone was so friendly and professional, we are already recommending them to our family and friends!

Customer: Jenne Bejaran
Date: 2019-07-29
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Came in frustrated because of some issues with my truck. After talking to Edward Gerard, I must say that you guys have an outstanding customer service team! Edward was there for everything that I need and was sure to see that my service was valued. Still frustrated about my truck (I know they’re fixing it), but I leave happy knowing my truck is in the hands of some truly caring staff.

Customer: Erik Mendez
Date: 2019-07-18
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Bridgit did a fantastic job of taking care of my car buying needs. She was friendly, communicated well and attentive. The sales manager and finance team were very helpful as well. Overall Gene Messer Toyota was a very positive experience.

Customer: Scott Hawkins
Date: 2019-07-17
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Heck they were even accommodating when they didn't have to be. Will definitely visit again.

Customer: Lady Erica
Date: 2019-07-14
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Brandon (sales) and John (finance) were so great to work with. Brandon was very knowledgeable in regards to our questions and answered everything honestly. It was refreshing to have a car salesman be upfront and honest with us. John was the same way! We are so thankful that they made buying a car easier and as painless as possible. We will go back to Gene Messed Toyota in the future when it is time for another car!

Customer: Sarah Ward
Date: 2019-07-02
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

I just recently moved to Lubbock from the Dallas-Ft. Worth area. And I get a nail in my tire. Joe was first to greet me and was great and really nice. They were quick to repair my tire and Joe let me know my tires were still in good shape and mentioned other things to get worked on in a later date. I fully intend on coming back for future services. The customer service was real top notch. Thank you!

Customer: Shelby C
Date: 2019-07-01
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Great job

Fantastic service and very timely. The employee was knowledgeable and courteous. I was in and out in a very timely manner. I truly believe it’s the best in town

Customer: Ernest F Hernandez
Date: 2019-06-21
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Bridgit was wonderful

I meet bridgit at a dollar general and she told me that she could help me find a car and she did just that. She is so sweet and really cares about her clients.

Customer: Regina Moore
Date: 2019-06-21
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Alignment check

I had my Tundra checked out and was very pleased with the friendliness and professionalism from everyone I had contact with. Great job! Thank you!

Customer: Steve Downing
Date: 2019-06-21
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Fast, friendly, and professional service

Called for an appointment and received one immediately. Service personnel were friendly and got the service started quickly. They provided comfortable waiting areas for their customers. Their service was professional and completed quickly.

Customer: Toyota Avalon
Date: 2019-06-21
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Once all parts came in, scheduling & service were a breeze. The online app to see & approve additional charges made it even easier. Staff was helpful & very friendly.

Customer: Matt Estes
Date: 2019-06-21
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Service Appointment

Staff is excellent. Very professional explaining details of service. They do not try to oversell the services they provide. They are reasonably priced for a dealership.

Customer: DaveT
Date: 2019-06-19
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

This was my first time at Gene Messer Toyota, and the service team was great! Cody Jones right away got to us and took care of my vehicle when it was due for an oil change. He also was very knowledgeable throughout the process on letting me know about my warranty and options that I had left. I’ll definitely be back for any future service work that my vehicle will need!

Customer: Obet Medina
Date: 2019-06-19
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Gene Messer Does It Again!

I was at the Gene Messer dealership for routine maintenance on my recently purchased certified car. The service was done in a reasonable length of time, and I was on my way. I also appreciate the very handy shuttle service!

Customer: Lana in Lubb
Date: 2019-06-13
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

I went to Gene Messer Toyota Service Department for my 10,000 mile service check. Joe did an outstanding job explaining what needed to be done and how long it would take. I was in and out in 40 minutes. Great customer service experience!

Customer: Lou Ortiz
Date: 2019-06-12
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Owner

Great straight-forward customer service! My salesmen was very professional!!This was my second time to buy a vehicle from Gene Messer Toyota. I will recommend them to all my friends

Customer: Rick
Date: 2019-06-11
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Toyota has been extremely professional in taking care of my truck and on top of that Jordan Smith has been awesome, very helpful, willing to explain something I may still not understand. Really appreciate him and Gene Messer Toyota

Customer: Sylvia Mirabal
Date: 2019-06-10
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Always 5 star service! Every single time!

Always prompt and amazing service. Thank you for making car service a breeze! Special thanks to Jenny for locating and replacing new tires within hours making my travel plans stay on schedule.

Customer: Aep
Date: 2019-06-06
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

25,000 Mile Service

Prompt greeting, friendly service, done within time promised. I will be bringing my Highlander back for future service. David Thomas explained everything clearly and concisely.

Customer: Old Oilfield Hand
Date: 2019-06-05
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Oil change

I went in for oil change and was glad they told me what they were doing before they did it. I can't count other times going to other places and they just make changes w out telling you first. Joe Owen was very friendly. Will definitely be back.

Customer: Marlena
Date: 2019-06-01
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Great service experience! Went in for a routine 20,000 mile maintenance and Gene Messer Toyota were courteous, efficient and had me done in no time. Their online service scheduler makes scheduling an appointment a breeze!

Customer: Michael Breler
Date: 2019-05-24
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Stephanie did a great job!

Stephanie you were great! I appreciate you so much! 10/10 on everything. Sorry I couldn't review sooner, I needed help to know how to leave the review!

Customer: Sandy1234
Date: 2019-05-20
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Gene Messer provided quick and excellent service. Very polite and informative. I definitely trust them to work on my vehicle. Thank you.

Customer: DM Irvin
Date: 2019-05-11
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Best experience in car dealership by far! They are the best. My wife and I were not planning on getting a new car but we wanted to know if they can help us with two car payments. Justice Caylor is the go-to man! I requested a quote and wanted to see Rav4 2019 and he instantly called me right after that query over their website. We looked at the car and he made everything go smooth. The payments were much lesser than what we were paying for both cars we had. He even helped us clean our cars and take out the stuff from the trunk. He stayed with us till 10pm at night! He's super patient and very honest. He answered any question we had and he shows is diligence with the client-case. My next car will definitely be Toyota Camry :). Thank you Gene Messer Toyota for your service and honesty.

Customer: Shahzeb Choudary
Date: 2019-05-08
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Justice was very helpful in our car buying process. He was very personable and patient, and was more than happy to answer all the questions we had. Without him, we would have been overwhelmed throughout the whole process....he's made it so easy!

Customer: Joleen Borja
Date: 2019-04-30
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

This is going to be my second review. The first one was only 3 stars but today I'm giving 5 as the employees were super nice and helpful in the service department. No one argued over car maintenance and they were all super friendly. I recommend going here.

Customer: Courtney Hennessee
Date: 2019-04-29
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

The car shopping experience at Gene Messer Toyota was great! We were treated with the utmost courtesy and respect. They had exactly the model and color we wanted, but made my car shopping experience easier than I have ever had. Thanks Yogi, for taking such good care of us!

Customer: Jon Hendrickson
Date: 2019-04-26
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Edward Gerard provided excellent service. I’d request him every time I went in for service if I could. Got everything I needed to get done within a short time period and he made it as simple and as friendly as possible. I’d give 10 stars if I could

Customer: Phillip Quick
Date: 2019-04-15
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Talked to the guy who sold me my car about my flat and he got me in touch with Jordan. Jordan took super good care of me. Super polite and communicative. My car was ready in 2 hours!

Customer: emily boneta
Date: 2019-04-08
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

We purchased our vehicle here. Great pricing which they still came down on. Had the vehicle ready to go before we finished financing. Got the rates we wanted and no pressure. Over all a pleasant buying experience. I plan to return here in the future.

Customer: Marco Delasuave
Date: 2019-04-03
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Kudos! Shout out to Stephanie in the Service Department Department. She puts the service in customer service! It was a long day dealing with a tire issue and a Monday. She made everything a little bit more brighter and uncomplicated. Thank you, Gene Messer Toyota the whole service department and Stephanie! I would definitely recommend buying a vehicle from Gene Messer Toyota from the time I signed the papers 2 years ago till today has been nothing but an uncomplicated experience.

Customer: Beth P
Date: 2019-03-25
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

David was very helpful and I felt at ease turning my car to him. He understood what the issues were, solved the problems, explained what needed to be done, and why it was necessary. I hope I get him next time! Pleasant transaction and happy customer.

Customer: Crystal Conner
Date: 2019-03-11
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Talk to Butch if you are buying a new vehicle, he’s a nice man, made the process easy and fairly quick. Had the exact truck I wanted shipped to my office in Dallas, did the financing over the phone. Whole thing was fair, transparent, and easy. Butch is the reason I’ll be coming back for future purchases. The Dallas area dealers seem too busy to provide any real customer service.

Customer: Legacy Media
Date: 2019-02-27
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Super Dael

Joe Enrique was a tremendous help on my Pro Tundra!!! I would highly recommend Gene Messer Toyota and Joe to anyone looking for a new or used vehicle!!!!

Customer: Mess5569
Date: 2019-02-17
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Great service experience again. Dave Thomas was prompt and professional like first time we came. He even remembered items that needed to be addressed from our visit four months ago. Great friendly staff all around and genuine concern for customers and not focused on dollars. Will always come back here for our service needs.

Customer: Rene Cruz
Date: 2019-02-17
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Buying my vehicle through Gene Messer was a phenomenal experience. I highly recommend Austin Abbott as a sales professional and I will go to him for all my vehicles. They were willing to replace an alternator free of charge and with no hassle to have my vehicle ready the next day. Overall a great experience.

Customer: Musician Live
Date: 2019-02-14
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Could not have asked for a better group of people to work with. Amanda our sales lady was incredible. She wasn’t pushy or anything. I can’t say enough about her. And David the finance guy was extremely friendly and explained everything so throughly. Love Gene Messer Toyota

Customer: Laura Hougland
Date: 2019-01-31
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

I was greeted quickly upon arrival. I was scheduled for an oil change and tire rotation and did not wait long at all. I was there for a total of 30 minutes! Stephanie was kind and incredibly helpful. She even walked l my 3 kids and I out to the car and offered to help in any way. Great service!

Customer: Hannah Beden
Date: 2019-01-29
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

What a great car buying experience! Gene Messer Toyota really made me feel at home and the process from start to finish was so refreshing and quick!! Tucker Leeson was an excellent salesman to deal with and took control from the beginning to watching us drive off. Amazing inventory selection! Super pumped to be driving my new ride!! Thanks Gene Messer Toyota and thank you Tucker!

Customer: Paul Fioroni
Date: 2019-01-29
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

We have bought @ 8 vehicles from Gene Messer Toyota.The selection of vehicles have been very good & reliable. A+ This particular year the Corolla selection is very low in their inventory . Good for them, not great for me. B+ The web site makes it very helpful to find a vehicle . A+ Service department always answers my questions. A+ Parts department . A+

Customer: Don Austin
Date: 2019-01-24
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Today I stopped at Gene Messer Toyota to make an appointment for routine periodic service because I was driving by. I had bought my car from another dealership but was no longer able to get service at that other dealer. Instead of making an appointment, Stephanie said they could take me right then if I could wait for 1.5 hours. It was actually just a little over one hour. While waiting, the dealership had a great waiting room where I was offered herbal tea (which I drink instead of coffee) and a man came around offering snacks. Stephanie was great and the entire service was unexpectedly wonderful.

Customer: Gary M. Cunningham
Date: 2019-01-24
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Thoughtful, professional, and considerate! I greatly appreciate the time and attention the Service Department took today in helping with multiple frustrating tasks on my Corolla. I am especially grateful for the time and consideration that David Thomas and a team of service members took in finding a special family ring that had fallen into my steering column. Thank you, Gene Messer Toyota Service!

Customer: Becca Beights
Date: 2019-01-14
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

We had a great experience going to Gene Messer Toyota. Great service well informed sales staff. Easy car buying. We recommend Ivan as your sales person and David in finance. We love our new car.

Customer: Ruben Rocha
Date: 2019-01-10
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Just purchased a vehicle from here! Service was excellent in every department one of the most smoothest & great experiences I’ve had with a car dealership! Joe Angel is a great salesman who helped me tremendously! Would def recommend buying from this dealership. :)

Customer: Shy Reyes
Date: 2019-01-10
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

The sales team and managers really go out of their way to ensure that each person or families are helped promptly and quickly. I never felt pressured to “hurry and BUY NOW” like I have felt many times before at other dealerships! They really know their cars and were able to answer all of my questions in a way that is easy to understand. Gene Messer Toyota here in Lubbock also offer ideas once they get a feeling for what your needs are and what you are really interested in! Great selections, quick service, NO pressure salesmen, and awesome support before and after the sale! What else can be said? Lubbock is Blessed having Gene Messer Toyota and their entire team based here in our city!

Customer: Doc Tim
Date: 2019-01-02
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Jenny was awesome! She helped lower the price of my new tires so that I could actually afford a decent set. She went out of her way get to get the better deal and really made me feel like a valued customer.

Customer: Adam Thomas
Date: 2018-12-21
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Took my 2016 Tacoma for an oil change and was going to use a discount coupon but was told that it was expired. The young man named Cody saw my Marine decals on my rear window and asked if I was a Veteran? I said yes, and after thanking me for my service to our country, Cody said that he would give me a better discount than the discount coupon. And he did. When my truck was ready, he went through everything that was done and checked and was very thorough. Excellent service! My thanks to all involved. Merry Christmas!!

Customer: Noah Gaitan
Date: 2018-12-21
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

So far I have no complaints. It was my first time using them to service my 4Runner. They have a shuttle service available when you are dropping your vehicle off; the driver is really nice. There was an issue discovered after I came back to get my vehicle that hadn't been caught during the initial check. I feel the solution provided was adequate. The only part that isn't ideal is that I have to come back again because the part was not in stock.

Customer: katherine kim Brown
Date: 2018-12-18
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Austin and his team make the process of buying a car super easy. No pushy sales tactics, just questions of what you need and an answer of what is right for you. Highly recommend them to anyone in the market for a new or used car.

Customer: Richard Louis Brose
Date: 2018-12-13
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Only stopped by to have the windshield wipers checked. The service tech determined the issue was caused by an independent body shop after the car was repaired from hail damage. In short time, they fixed the mistake made by the body shop and completed the 10,000 mile service that was due all without an appointment. That was awesome. Made a believer out of me for sure. An added bonus was this was all done for no charge.

Customer: Dennis Lamb
Date: 2018-11-21
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Went in looking for a second car and we could not have been happier. Staff was so understanding and willing to do whatever they had to to make sure we were smiling when leaving. Proud to be part of the family now. :)

Customer: Andrea Garza
Date: 2018-11-19
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Fantastic service department. My Daughter in Law's vehicle broke down and needed repair. Another dealer tried to scare her into trading the vehicle on another car, and give her nothing for trading the broken car. He told her that repairs to the vehicle would be $10,000, and that he would "help her out of her situation". Luckily, she called me, and I called the wonderful staff at Gene Messer Toyota service, Chris specifically. Chris and his team did a thorough review of the car, and came to me with an analysis that was both accurate and fair. In fact, if all goes right, the repairs could be 1/10th of what the other guy said. I am so thankful for Chris and his staff. They are honest, competent, and caring. Maybe my next purchase at Gene Messer will be a new car, not just a service. Thanks Chris.

Customer: Dan Skarke
Date: 2018-11-07
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

They were friendly and ready to serve once we pulled up! They had us checked in and ready to start within a few minutes. We like the new feature where they email you with all their findings and you can choose what services they perform! Fast and timely services.

Customer: Ashley Franklin
Date: 2018-10-25
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

Joe Enriquez was our salesman & he helped us all the way from Odessa to Lubbock. Every question we had he was honest, he did everything he could & got us into the truck we wanted. Dante from their finance team is great as well!! Definitely would purchase from them again. 🙌🏻😊

Customer: Marissa Madrid
Date: 2018-10-22
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

I had a wonderful experience at Gene Messer Toyota, I would highly recommend them for your car purchase needs. They were speedy in answering my request for information. I would especially recommend working with Don Smith. He was a very personable guy and made sure my satisfaction came first. The finance manager Valery was also a big help and made the process as smooth as possible.

Customer: H.Romeo AGASS
Date: 2018-10-20
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

This place is simply fantastic!! I have never had such a well organized sales process buying a car. Gus my salesman and David in finance were exceptional. They way they run this dealership is how all of them should be modeled after. Great job guys!!

Customer: Lanre Fashakin
Date: 2018-10-12
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

I took my vehicle in for an oil change & to have my a/c checked because it was randomly quitting. Jenny checked me in right away & we discussed the issue with my a/c. She told me once diagnosed they would fix it if they had the part in stock. At that point I assumed I would have to come back later in the week but they had the part in stock & fixed it that day which happened to be Saturday. I was totally impressed that they fixed it on a Saturday. I was also totally impressed with Jenny. She’s very knowledgeable & very pleasant. Everyone in the service department was very nice & accommodating. Will definitely go back for any future service work.

Customer: Sonya Murphy
Date: 2018-09-17
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

The salesman wasn't just trying to make a sale, he was truthful and honest about the car and the deal we were given. Toyota vehicles last so long and have great resale value. I loved the experience .

Customer: Audrey Trevino
Date: 2018-09-03
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

The salesman wasn't just trying to make a sale, he was truthful and honest about the car and the deal we were given. Toyota vehicles last so long and have great resale value. I loved the experience .

Customer: A Google User
Date: 2018-09-03
Reason For Visit:
Employees dealt with:

X